SINCE I HAVE BEEN SLEEPING IN MY CAR, I HAVE BEEN CLEANING THE AREAS WHERE I PARK…THOUSANDS AND THOUSANDS OF CIGARETTE BUTTS HAVE BEEN PICKED UP BUT THERE IS ONE THING THAT REALLY GETS ME RILED UP REAL GOOD-IT IS HOW FILTHY THE TRUCKERS ARE THAT UTILIZE THESE SCENIC OVERLOOKS.  WHEN I WAS A RUNAWAY, I RODE WITH TRUCKERS QUITE A BIT AND I DO NOT REMEMBER THEM AS BEING DIRTY-BUT RATHER AS INDIVIDUALS WHO KEPT THEIR MACHINES AND PLACES THEY PARK PRISTEEN-MOST CARRIED TRASH BAGS AND OTHERS WOULD DO CLEAN OUT OF THEIR SEMI TRUCKS WHEN GETTING FUELED UP OR WHEN SHOWERING-I ACTUALLY REMEMBER MANY GETTING MAD WHEN PULLING INTO A TRUCKSTOP AND SEEING ONE OF THEIR KIND HAD DUMPED TRASH IN THE LOT INSTEAD OF USING THE MANY TRASH DROPS.  I HAVE BEEN STAYING AT THE 2 SCENIC OVERLOOKS AT NIGHT FOR A WHILE NOW AS I FELT SAFE THERE AND IN RETURN-I CLEAN UP THE PLACE AND WILL OFFER TO TAKE PHOTOS OF PEOPLE-MOST PEOPLE LOVE THIS AND I HAVE SEEN REAL, GENUINE SMILES FROM MOST EVERYONE THAT STOPS.  I HAVE SPENT QUITE A FEW HOURS CLEANING UP THE BUTTS AND TOILETPAPER AND WORSE, BUT WHEN I TURN AROUND AND SEE THE AREA THAT THE TRUCKERS PARK AT-IT STRAIGHT UP MAKES ME MAD.  THESE GUYS SPEND THE NIGHT AT THESE BEAUTIFUL PARKING AREAS AND THEN HAVE THE BALLS TO THROW THEIR TRASH RIGHT OUT THE WINDOW.   I HAVE CLEANED UP MORE TRASH WHERE THE TRUCKERS PARK THAN WHERE THE PEOPLE DO AND THAT JUST AIN’T RIGHT.   I HAVE ASKED POLICE TO PUT SIGNS UP ABOUT THE LITTERING AND A CIGARETTE BUTT DISPOSAL UNIT AND MAYBE EVEN A PORT-O-POTTY AND NOW I HEAR THEY ARE DISCUSSING THESE THINGS AND THAT MAKES ME HAPPY TO SEE THE PRIDE RENEWED JUST BY CLEANING UP TRASH ON MY WEEKENDS.  APPARENTLY THE WORD IS GETTING AROUND THAT THERE IS A GAL WHO HAS MADE IT HER JOB TO KEEP THESE PLACES CLEAN IN RETURN FOR BEING ABLE TO STAY NIGHTS…  I HAVE EVEN TRIED TO TALK TO THE CURB CREATURES ABOUT GETTING SOME TRASH BAGS AND PICK UP TRASH AND IF THEY WANT TO MAKE A SIGN SAYING THEY ACCEPT DONATIONS- THAT WOULD BE SMARTER THAN JUST SITTING THERE MAKING PEOPLE UNCOMFORTABLE, SO FAR I HAVE GIVEN ONE GUY,DON, A RIDE TO A BETTER HITCHHIKING SPOT IN VAIL TO HELP STOP THIS HOMELESS THING AND THE NASTY CARDBOARD SIGNS FROM MAKING THIS PLACE LOOK LIKE 5 POINTS IN DENVER.    I DO NOT KNOW WHAT THE CITY ORDINANCES ARE ABOUT THE HOMELESS, BUT I DO SEE WE HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO TO END THIS CURB CRITTER PROBLEM.  I HAVE IDEAS, BUT GETTING THEM TO THE RIGHT EARS IS A PROBLEM.   WINTER IS HERE AND WE WILL HAVE TO DO SOMETHING AND I SUGGEST SETTING AASIDE AN AREA FOR ‘HOMELESS DAYCARE’  KIND OF LIKE THE SENIOR CENTER HAS FOR OLDER ADULTS-A SMALL AREA AWAY FROM TOURISTS WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA AND MAYBE EVEN OFFERING TO GIVE THEM MEALS BASED ON TRASH BEING PICKED UP…EITHER WAY, SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE BEFORE THE SNOW STICKS.   I HOPE OUR TOWN COUNCIL WILL GET A THINK TANK GOING ON THIS PROBLEM AND ASOLUTION THAT DOES NOT OUTRIGHT BAN THE HOMELESS, BUT HIDES THEM FROM SUMMIT’S BREAD AND BUTTER-IT’S TOURISTS.   MY NAME IS KARIN WRAPE AND THIS IS MY THERAPUTIC WRITING FOR 10-12-16   AND AS ALWAYS, I WELCOME ALL COMMENTS,  GOOD OR BAD!

