FOR QUITE A WHILE I HAVE BEEN TELLING THE PEOPLE SITTING AT SHOPPING CENTER ENTRIES TO GO N GET A ROLL OF TRASH BAGS AND PUT A SIGN ON THEIR BACK SAYING   ‘CLEANING UP SUMMIT COUNTY- DONATIONS ACCEPTED!’ AND AFTER READING ABOUT THE HOMELESS SITUATION, I DECIDED TO TRY MYSELF A SOCIAL EXPERIMENT- I PULLED OUT THE OXYGEN TANK AND ATTACHED A CLEAR PLASTIC BOX AND I CUT A HOLE IN THE LID AND WROTE ON THE BOX  “CLEANING UP SUMMIT COUNTY ONE BUTT AT A TIME-DONATIONS ACCEPTED”   AND TAPED IT TO MY OXYGEN BOTTLE AND PUT MY GLOVES ON AND WENT TO WORK… I NORMALLY OFFER TO TAKE PICS OF PEOPLE SO THEY GET SOME GOOD PICS OF THEIR LOVED ONES ALL TOGETHER, BUT YESTERDAY I DID NOT OFFER THE PICS EXCEPT TO A FEW COUPLES- THIS IS A SOCIAL EXPERIMENT AFTER ALL, SO I LET PEOPLE WATCH AS I CLEANED UP THE UPPER SCENIC PARKING AREA THAT IS JUST OFF I 70 AND EVEN WITH LITTLE CONTACT WITH PEOPLE-I STILL RECEIVED A LOT OF DONATIONS- UNDER $10- BUT THAT IS MORE THAN ENOUGH FOR A MEAL OR FOR SOME GASOLINE- AND THIS IS WITH MINIMAL HUMAN INTERACTION- I WAS WORKING MY WAY AROUND AFTER SWEEPING UP THE GLASS FROM A BROKEN WINDOW AND I WAS MOVING AROUND TOWARDS THE ‘SUMMIT’ STONES AND I LOPOKED BACK AND SOMEONE EVEN LEFT ME ADONATION OF SOME KIND BUDS!  THE LITTLE BOTTLE WAS JUST SITTING THERE NEXT TO MY OXYGEN CART, KIND OF BLEW ME AWAY THAT SOMEONE WOULD MAKE THIS KIND OF DONATION AND THEN JUST LEAVE, NOT WANTING NOTARIETY-JUST WANTING TO MAKE MY DAY AND THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT IT DID- MY EXPERIMENT ON HOW POEPLE WOULD REACT TO JUST A DONATION BOX LEFT OUT WAS A SUCESS!  I PROBABLY COULD HAVE HAD LOTS MORE DONATIONS HAD I OFFERED TO TAKE MORE PICS OF HAPPY PEOPLE BUT I WAS IN IT FOR ‘RESEARCH’  NOT MONEY…  I SPENT SEVERAL HOURS CLEANING UP THE NASTIEST STUFF YOU CAN IMAGINE AT A PARKING AREA OFF THE HIGHWAY THAT DOES NOT HAVE RESTROOMS OR TRASHCANS AND OF COURSE THERE WAS THE USUAL JUNKIE STUFF, BAGGIES, NEEDLES ETC. BUT I PICKED IT ALL UP AND KIND OF SWIPED THE DOGGIE LEAVINGS DOWN THE SLOPE SO IT WAS NOT RIGHT WHERE YOU COULD SEE IT…  I JUST THOUGHT I SHOULD TRY THE ADVICE I WAS GIVING TO THE OTHER HOMELESS FOLKS IN SUMMIT COUNTY,CO. AND BY THE END OF THE DAY MY PLASTIC GLOVES WERE SHREDDED BUT THE PLACE LOOKED BEAUTIFUL AFTER MY WORK WAS DONE  AND THERE WERE DONATIONS MADE WITHOUT ME EVEN KNOWING WHO WAS MY BENEFACTORS!   I AM HOPING I CAN ‘ADOPT’ THE SCENIC OVERLOOKS AS MY TERRITORY TO CLEAN FOR MY APPRECIATION OF SUMMIT COUNTY LETTING ME PARK IN A PLACE I FEEL SAFE.  WOULDN’T THAT BE SOMETHING?  A SIGN  SAYING THESE SCENIC OVERLOOKS HAVE BEEN ADOPTED BY KARIN WRAPE???  I SURE THINK THAT WOULD BE COOL-AND MAYBE I WILL MAKE ME SOME SIGNS THAT SAY THAT AND TAPE THEM UP AND SEE WHAT KIND OF REACTION I GET.  THE TRUCKERS AREAS ARE THE NASTIEST, SO I MAY PUT UP A SIGN POINTING OUT THERE ARE CAMERAS WATCHING AND THAT THERE ARE BATHROOMS AT THE NEXT EXITS. WHO KNOWS WHAT I MAY DO BUT I AM DOING MY BEST TO CLEAN UP THE PLACES I VISIT.  THERAPUTIC WRITING DONE BY KARIN WRAPE 10-24-16

