YEP, I AM MAKING  ‘BUM KITS’… THEY CONSIST OF A CARDBOARD SIGN WITH A HEAVY DUTY TRASHBAG IN THEM AND THE INTERIOR SIGN IS FOR THEM TO POST ON BACK OR BY THEIR BACKPACKS WITH A DONATION CAN!  I HATE SEEING THESE PEOPLE AT THE ENTRANCES TO SHOPPING MALLS- THEY MAKE PEOPLE UNCOMFORTABLE AND PEOPLE CAN SEE THE DONATIONS ARE GOING TO CIGARETTES AND BEER JUST BY THE BUTTS AND CANS THAT THEY SIT IN THE MIDDLE OF.  I HAVE TRIED THIS METHOD PERSONALLY SO I KNOW THAT IT WORKS- I WOULD NOT GIVE OUT BAD IDEAS THAT DO NOT HELP SO I HAVE TESTED THEM AT THE SCENIC PARKING AREAS OFF I-70,  I PLACE A BOX OUT BY MY OXYGEN AND THE BOX SAYS ‘CLEANING UP SUMMIT COUNTY-ONE BUTT AT A TIME-DONATIONS ACCEPTED’ -THEN I GET MY GLOVES ON AND GET TO PICKING UP THE TRASH AND PEOPLE SEE THE BOX AND I USUALLY GET ABOUT 10 BUCKS- MORE THAN ENOUGH FOR A MEAL AND SOME GAS FOR MY TRUCK!  SOMETIMES I GET OTHER KINDS OF DONATIONS, FRUIT AND BOTTLES OF WATER, AND TODAY SOMEONE WAS KIND ENOUGH TO LEAVE ME 2 BOTTLES OF WATER AND AN ‘MRE’  MEALS READY TO EAT!  BUT I GET TO DO SOMETHING GOOD FOR THE COUNTY AND SINCE I HAVE OCD-OBCESSIVE/COMPULSIVE DESIRES- IT GIVES ME SOMETHING TO KEEP BUSY RATHER THAN JUST SITTING IN MY TRUCK READING A BOOK!  AND THEN THERE ARE TOURISTS THAT STOP AT THE OVERLOOKS AND I OFFER TO TAKE THEIR PICTURES SOMETIMES-ESPECIALLY COUPLES AND GROUPS-SO ALL CAN BE IN THE PHOTOS!   YOU CAN CALL ME CRAZY ALL YOU WANT -BUT YOU CANNOT DENY THAT I HAVE SOME REALLY GOOD IDEAS…  AND SUMMIT COUNTY BENEFITS FFROM GETTING A FREE CLEAN UP JOB SO THAT OUR SCENIC OVERLOOKS STAY SCENIC! THERAPUTIC WRITING DONE BY KARIN WRAPE 11-12-16   NOW LET US SEE IF ANYONE CARES TO LEAVE A COMMENT ON THIS APPROACH TO GETTING RID OF THE ‘CURB CREATURES’,hehehe 

 

